Best AI Writing Assistants (September 2026), Decided on Published Plans
Rytr is the best AI writing assistant for one person on a budget: a free plan with 10K characters a month, and Unlimited at $7.50 a month billed yearly with unlimited generations, one tone match and a Chrome extension. Choose Grammarly if you want correction and tone detection with generation on top: 100 AI prompts a month free, Pro at $12 USD with 2,000 prompts per member and one brand tone. Choose Copy.ai Chat for a small team: $24 a month billed annually covers 5 seats with unlimited words in chat. Choose Jasper for marketing teams that need Brand Voices and agents at $59 a month per seat billed yearly, and Writesonic only if AI-search tracking is the point and 15 articles a month is enough.
See Rytr plans →The five, side by side
| Feature | Rytr 🏆 | Grammarly | Copy.ai | Jasper | Writesonic |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes, 10K characters/month ✅ | Yes, 100 AI prompts/month ✅ | No | No | No |
| Lowest paid plan | $7.50/mo billed yearly ✅ | $12 USD, period not stated | $24/mo billed $288/yr ($29 monthly) | $59/mo per seat billed yearly ($69 monthly) | $79/mo billed annually |
| Seats included | Not stated | Not stated; limits per member | 5 on Chat ✅ | 1 on Pro | 1 on Starter |
| Usage limit | Unlimited generations on paid plans | 2,000 prompts/member/month on Pro | Unlimited words in chat | Not stated | 15 AI articles/month on Starter |
| Brand voice | 1 tone match (Unlimited), multiple (Premium) | 1 brand tone, 1 style guide (Pro) | Not assigned to a plan on the pricing page | 2 Brand Voices (Pro), unlimited (Business) | 1 writing style (Starter), 5 (Basic), 10 (Growth) |
| Trial | Free plan | 7 days on Pro | Not stated | 7 days | Free trial, no card, length not stated |
Prices are the vendors' USD figures on the billing period shown. Rytr, Jasper, Writesonic and Copy.ai show annual-billing rates as headline prices; Grammarly's page shows $12 USD without stating the billing period. Sources and dates are under each card below.
How we decide
AI writing assistants are decided on four published facts: whether the free plan is usable, the regular annual-billing price per seat, whether the page states its usage limit, and whether a brand-voice feature is listed.
- The ranking rule for this page: Rank by whether the free plan is usable first, then by the lowest regular annual-billing price per seat, then by whether the page states its usage limit; monthly-billing and promotional prices are shown but do not move the ranking.
- Where the facts come from: each product's own pricing and documentation pages, linked under every card with the date we checked them. When a vendor changes a plan, the fact changes here on the next check, and the date moves.
- What we do not do: star ratings, review counts, or claims to have tested the software in a lab. We compare what the companies publish, and we say when two products are close.
- How we are paid: some links pay us a commission if you start a paid plan. That is disclosed in the footer, it never changes the price you pay, and products with no partner program are ranked on the same rule as products with one.
The picks
Rytr
A free plan and the lowest paid price on this page
- Free plan Yes, $0: 10K characters per month, no tone match, no plagiarism checks, 1 language, standard character input limit, no Chrome extension
- Unlimited $7.50/month on the yearly toggle ("Yearly (get 2 months free!)"): unlimited generations, 1 tone match, 50 plagiarism checks per month, 1 language, doubled character input limit, Chrome extension
- Premium $24.16/month on the yearly toggle: multiple tone match, 100 plagiarism checks per month, 35+ languages, tripled character input limit, Chrome extension, custom use cases, priority support
- Monthly billing A "Monthly (cancel anytime!)" toggle exists; the monthly-billing prices were not readable on the page as fetched
- Word limit Free plan is capped at 10K characters per month; paid plans state unlimited generations
- Brand voice "Tone of Voice Match" row: none on Free, 1 on Unlimited, multiple on Premium; all plans list 20+ pre-programmed tones of voice
- Seats Not stated on the pricing page
- Free trial Not stated on the pricing page; the free plan is the entry point
Facts from Rytr's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Rytr wins the rule on both counts: it has a free plan and the cheapest paid tier. Free is 10K characters a month with no tone match, no plagiarism checks, one language and no Chrome extension, which is enough to find out whether the output suits you. Unlimited at $7.50 a month on the yearly toggle (the page labels it "get 2 months free") removes the cap, adds one tone match, 50 plagiarism checks a month and the Chrome extension. Premium at $24.16 a month billed yearly adds multiple tone match, 100 plagiarism checks, 35+ languages, custom use cases and priority support. The page does not state seats and did not show monthly-billing prices as fetched, so anyone who wants to pay monthly should read the toggle on the vendor page.
Grammarly
A free plan with 100 AI prompts a month, and Pro at $12 USD
- Free plan Yes, $0/month: write without mistakes, see writing tone, generate text with AI prompts, 100 prompts per month
- Pro $12 USD, shown with "Try for free" and a 7-day free trial; billing period is not stated next to the price on the page as fetched
- Pro AI limit 2,000 prompts per member per month
- Pro features Everything in Free, plus rewrite full sentences, adjust tone, write fluently in English, unlimited personalized suggestions, detect plagiarism and AI text, account roles and permissions, 1 style guide, 1 brand tone, Knowledge Share, snippets, team analytics
- Enterprise Contact Sales: unlimited prompts per member per month, proactive AI that works everywhere, dedicated support, BYOK encryption, custom roles, data loss prevention, unlimited style guides and brand tones, ROI reporting
- Word limit Measured in AI prompts per month (100 Free, 2,000 Pro per member, unlimited Enterprise), not words
- Brand voice "Brand tone" and "Style guide" rows: unavailable on Free, 1 each on Pro, unlimited on Enterprise
- Seats Not stated on the pricing page; Pro limits are quoted per member
- Free trial 7-day free trial on Pro, with an email reminder 2 days before the trial ends
Facts from Grammarly's plans page, checked 2026-09-05.
Grammarly is the other product here with a free plan, and it is the only one whose free tier also corrects what you have already written and shows its tone. Free includes 100 AI prompts a month. Pro is listed at $12 USD with a 7-day free trial; the page does not state the billing period next to the price, so treat the number as the vendor shows it. Pro raises the limit to 2,000 prompts per member per month and adds full-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment, plagiarism and AI-text detection, one style guide, one brand tone, snippets and team analytics. Enterprise, by contact, makes prompts, style guides and brand tones unlimited.
Copy.ai
No free plan, but 5 seats and unlimited chat words for $24 a month
- Free plan No. No free plan or trial length is stated on the pricing page
- Chat $24/month billed $288 a year on the annual toggle (shown as 20% saving), or $29/month billed monthly: 5 seats, unlimited words in chat, unlimited chat projects, access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models
- Growth $1,000/month billed $12,000 a year: 75 seats, unlimited words in chat, 20K workflow credits per month
- Expansion $2,000/month billed $24,000 a year: 150 seats, 45K workflow credits per month
- Scale $3,000/month billed $36,000 a year: 200 seats, 75K workflow credits per month
- Enterprise Custom pricing via demo request: guided implementation, API access and bulk workflow runs, 20+ integrations, unlimited customizable workflows, designated account and support team
- Word limit Unlimited words in chat on every listed plan; workflows are metered in workflow credits per month
- Brand voice Brand Voice appears in the site navigation as a platform component; the pricing page does not assign it to a specific plan
- Seats Chat 5, Growth 75, Expansion 150, Scale 200
Facts from Copy.ai's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Copy.ai has no free plan and states no trial on its pricing page, which is why it ranks below the two products that do. It has the lowest price per seat: Chat is $24 a month billed $288 a year (the page marks the annual toggle as a 20% saving) or $29 a month billed monthly, and it includes 5 seats, unlimited words in chat, unlimited chat projects and access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. Above Chat the plans jump to Growth at $1,000 a month billed $12,000 a year for 75 seats and 20K workflow credits, then Expansion and Scale at $2,000 and $3,000 a month. Brand Voice appears in the site navigation but the pricing page does not assign it to a plan.
Jasper
Brand Voices, agents and a Canvas platform, from $59 a month per seat
- Free plan No. 7-day free trial on Pro
- Pro $59/month per seat billed yearly (shown as "Save ~20%"), or $69/month per seat billed monthly; includes 1 seat
- Pro features Canvas platform for on-brand content, agents for core marketing workflows, 2 Brand Voices and 5 Knowledge assets, image generation and editing, Marketing Editor and chat, browser extensions and integrations, personal usage analytics, SOC2 compliant
- Business Custom pricing, minimum 12-month commitment: everything in Pro plus agents for complex workflows including GEO and translations, no-code builder for custom AI agents, Jasper Grid, unlimited Brand Voices, Knowledge and Audiences, API access, admin controls and Groups, SSO and SCIM, dedicated account management
- Word limit Not stated on the pricing page
- Brand voice "Let AI analyze your content's tone of voice, then set tone and formatting rules so Jasper's writing always sounds like you": 2 voices on Pro, unlimited on Business
- Seats Pro includes 1 seat; the FAQ says to contact sales for the Business plan if more than 1 user is needed
- API Business plan only
Facts from Jasper's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Jasper is the priciest single-seat product here that still has a self-serve price. Pro is $59 a month per seat billed yearly, shown as "Save ~20%" against $69 a month billed monthly, and it includes one seat and a 7-day free trial. What the seat buys is the Canvas platform, agents for core marketing workflows, 2 Brand Voices and 5 Knowledge assets, image generation and editing, browser extensions and integrations, and SOC2 compliance. The page does not state a word limit. More than one user means the Business plan: custom pricing, a minimum 12-month commitment, unlimited Brand Voices, a no-code agent builder, API access, SSO and SCIM.
Writesonic
AI articles bundled with ChatGPT and Gemini visibility tracking, from $79 a month
- Free plan No. Free trial with no credit card needed; the trial length is not stated on the pricing page
- Starter $79/month billed annually (page states $240 saved a year): 1 user, 1 project, 15 AI articles per month, 50 prompts and 50 answers tracked daily across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, 10 site audits of 100 pages, 10 agentic workflow trial runs, standard email support
- Basic $199/month billed annually ($600 saved a year): 2 users, 1 project, 25 AI articles per month, 100 prompts and 300 answers tracked daily, 20 site audits of 1,200 pages, 50 workflow trial runs
- Growth $399/month billed annually ($1,200 saved a year), marked "Most popular": 3 users, 2 projects, 50 AI articles per month, 200 prompts and 600 answers tracked daily, sentiment analysis, Action Center trial, 50 site audits of 2,500 pages, 100 workflow trial runs, priority email support
- Enterprise Custom pricing by demo: all 10 AI platforms tracked, full Action Center, custom article volume, full agentic workflow access, GA4 and Looker Studio integrations, SSO/SAML, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR, dedicated AI search strategist
- Monthly billing A monthly toggle exists ("Annual Save 20%"); the monthly-billing prices were not readable on the page as fetched
- Word limit Metered in AI articles per month (15 Starter, 25 Basic, 50 Growth), not words
- Brand voice "Writing Styles (Brand Voice)" row: 1 on Starter, 5 on Basic, 10 on Growth, custom on Enterprise
- Seats Starter 1 user, Basic 2 users, Growth 3 users
Facts from Writesonic's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Writesonic's pricing page in September 2026 sells AI-search visibility first and article generation second. Starter is $79 a month billed annually (the page says that saves $240 a year) for 1 user, 15 AI articles a month, 50 prompts and 50 answers tracked daily across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, 10 site audits and 1 writing style. Basic at $199 a month gives 2 users, 25 articles and 5 writing styles; Growth at $399 a month, marked most popular, gives 3 users, 50 articles, 10 writing styles and sentiment analysis. There is a free trial with no credit card, of unstated length, and no free plan. Buy it for the tracking; on writing alone the other four are cheaper.
Which one should you actually get?
- You want to pay nothing or almost nothing: Rytr Free, then Rytr Unlimited at $7.50 a month billed yearly.
- You want your existing writing fixed as well as new text generated: Grammarly, free for 100 prompts a month, Pro at $12 USD.
- You are buying for two to five people: Copy.ai Chat, $24 a month billed annually for 5 seats.
- You run marketing content and need brand voices and agents: Jasper Pro at $59 a month per seat billed yearly, Business for more seats and the API.
- You want to know how ChatGPT and Gemini describe your brand: Writesonic, from $79 a month billed annually.
Head to head
Frequently Asked Questions
On published plans, Rytr is the best AI writing assistant for one person on a budget: a free plan of 10K characters a month and an Unlimited plan at $7.50 a month billed yearly with unlimited generations. Grammarly is the best pick if you want correction and tone alongside generation: 100 AI prompts a month free, Pro at $12 USD with 2,000 prompts per member. Copy.ai Chat is the best value for a small team at $24 a month billed annually for 5 seats. Jasper Pro at $59 a month per seat billed yearly is the marketing-team pick with 2 Brand Voices and agents. Writesonic Starter at $79 a month billed annually is built around AI-search tracking plus 15 AI articles a month.
Two of the five. Rytr Free gives 10K characters a month with no tone match, no plagiarism checks and one language. Grammarly Free gives 100 AI prompts a month plus mistake correction and tone detection. Jasper offers a 7-day trial and no free plan, Writesonic offers a free trial with no credit card and no free plan, and Copy.ai states no free plan or trial on its pricing page.
For one person, Rytr Unlimited at $7.50 a month on yearly billing is the lowest paid price on this page, followed by Grammarly Pro at $12 USD. Per seat, Copy.ai Chat is lowest: $24 a month billed $288 a year for 5 seats, which works out to $4.80 a seat. Jasper Pro is $59 a month per seat billed yearly ($69 monthly) and Writesonic Starter is $79 a month billed annually for 1 user.
Jasper Pro includes 2 Brand Voices and Business includes unlimited. Writesonic lists Writing Styles (Brand Voice): 1 on Starter, 5 on Basic, 10 on Growth. Grammarly Pro includes 1 brand tone and 1 style guide, Enterprise unlimited. Rytr lists Tone of Voice Match: 1 on Unlimited, multiple on Premium. Copy.ai lists Brand Voice in its site navigation but its pricing page does not assign it to a plan.
Each vendor meters differently. Rytr caps the free plan at 10K characters a month and states unlimited generations on paid plans. Grammarly counts AI prompts: 100 a month free, 2,000 per member on Pro. Copy.ai states unlimited words in chat on every plan and meters workflows in credits. Writesonic counts AI articles: 15, 25 or 50 a month. Jasper's pricing page does not state a word limit.
Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-09-05 and is linked under each card. Most of these vendors show annual-billing rates as the headline number, and that is stated next to each price here. The linked page is the authority and this page is updated on each check.