Best AI Video Tools (September 2026)

Descript is the best AI video tool for editing recorded footage: 10 media hours a month for $16 per person billed annually, with 1080p watermark-free export, the most stated quota per dollar on this page. Choose Pictory to turn scripts and articles into stock-footage videos by the hundred minutes ($25 a month annual for 2,400 minutes a year). Choose Synthesia for an avatar presenter at the lowest stated price ($18 a month yearly, 120 minutes a year), Runway to generate footage from text or images ($12 a month annual), and HeyGen for 4K avatar video on its $49 Pro plan.

See Descript plans →

The five, side by side

AI video tools compared on the vendors' published plans, checked 2026-09-05
Feature Descript 🏆 Pictory Synthesia Runway HeyGen
Best for Editing recorded video and audio Script and article to stock-footage video AI avatar presenter videos Generating footage from text and images AI avatar videos, 4K on Pro
Free plan Yes: 60 min media/mo, 720p, watermarked No; free trial, length not stated Basic: 10 min/mo, no download, logo stays Yes: 125 one-time credits, 5 GB Yes: 3 videos/mo, 1 min each, watermarked
Cheapest paid plan $16/person/mo annual ($24 monthly) ✅ $25/mo annual ($29 monthly) $18/mo yearly ($29 monthly) $12/mo annual ($15 monthly) $24/mo annual ($29 monthly)
Stated quota on that plan 10 media hours/mo ✅ 2,400 video min/yr (200/mo monthly) 120 video min/yr (12/mo monthly) 625 credits/mo: 52 s Gen-4.5 or 104 s Gen-4 Turbo 600 credits/mo; minutes not stated
Export resolution 1080p Hobbyist; 4K Creator and up Not stated Full HD 1920 x 1080 Native max not stated; 4K upscaling 1080p Creator; 4K Pro and up
Avatars Not stated Not stated 9 Basic; 125+ Starter; 180+ Creator Not stated 500+ stock, 1 custom on Free

Prices are the vendors' USD figures on annual billing, with the monthly-billing figure in brackets where the page shows one. Descript, Pictory and Synthesia show their annual prices next to higher struck-through figures, so those may be promotional. Descript's quota is hours of media edited, not minutes of generated video; the units are noted in the ranking rule below.

How we decide

AI video tools are decided on four published facts: how much stated video quota the cheapest paid plan buys per dollar, whether the free plan exports without a watermark, the highest export resolution the page states, and what the tool is actually for.

  • The ranking rule for this page: Rank by stated quota per dollar on the cheapest paid plan billed annually (minutes of media for editors, minutes or seconds of generated video for avatar and generation tools; a tool that publishes only credits with no minute equivalent ranks last), then by a watermark-free free plan, then by the highest export resolution stated.
  • Where the facts come from: each product's own pricing and documentation pages, linked under every card with the date we checked them. When a vendor changes a plan, the fact changes here on the next check, and the date moves.
  • What we do not do: star ratings, review counts, or claims to have tested the software in a lab. We compare what the companies publish, and we say when two products are close.
  • How we are paid: some links pay us a commission if you start a paid plan. That is disclosed in the footer, it never changes the price you pay, and products with no partner program are ranked on the same rule as products with one.

The picks

Best for editing

Descript

10 media hours a month for $16 per person on annual billing

Free plan (60 min of media/mo, 720p, watermarked); Hobbyist $16/person/mo on annual billing ($24 shown for monthly); Creator $24/mo annual ($35 monthly); Business $50/mo annual ($65 monthly)
  • Free plan Yes: "60 minutes (1 hr) / month" of media, 100 AI credits one time, 720p export with a watermark
  • Hobbyist The page shows "$16 $24 per person / month"; the annual toggle is labelled "Saving up to 35% over monthly plan", and $16 is the figure that matches that saving. "10 media hours / month", "400 / month" AI credits, "1080p, watermark-free" export
  • Creator $24 and $35 per person per month shown (annual and monthly): "30 media hours / month", "800 / month" AI credits, "4k, watermark-free" export
  • Business $50 and $65 per person per month shown (annual and monthly): "40 media hours / month", "1500 / month" AI credits, 4K export, "Scale to a team of 5 (billed separately)"
  • What the quota measures Media hours are hours of recorded or imported media transcribed and edited per month, not minutes of generated video
  • AI voices Limited on Free; 25+ on Hobbyist and Creator; 60+ on Business
  • Max export 720p Free, 1080p Hobbyist, 4K Creator and Business
  • Commercial use Not stated on the pricing page
See Descript plans →

Facts from Descript's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

Descript ranks first because it publishes the largest quota for the least money. Hobbyist is shown on the pricing page as "$16 $24 per person / month" with the annual toggle labelled as saving up to 35% over monthly, and it buys 10 media hours a month, 400 AI credits a month and 1080p watermark-free export. Creator ($24 per person a month annual, $35 monthly) moves to 30 media hours, 800 credits and 4K. The quota is hours of recorded or imported media you transcribe and edit, which is the right measure for an editor and a different one from the generated minutes the avatar tools sell. The free plan is real but small: 60 minutes of media a month, 100 one-time AI credits, and 720p export with a watermark.

Best for script-to-video volume

Pictory

2,400 video minutes a year on the $25 annual Starter plan

No free plan, free trial; Starter $25/mo billed annually ($29 monthly); Professional $35/mo annual ($59 monthly); Team $119/mo annual ($199 monthly)
  • Free plan Not stated on the pricing page; a "GET FREE TRIAL" button is shown on each paid plan. Trial length and card requirement are not stated
  • Starter "$25 $29 per month, billed annually" ($29 on monthly billing): 2,400 video minutes per year on annual billing (200 per month on monthly billing), 5 GB storage, "No watermark", 720 minutes of ElevenLabs AI voices in 29 languages per year
  • Professional "$35 $59 per month, billed annually" ($59 monthly): 7,200 video minutes per year (600 per month monthly), 20 GB storage, unlimited standard voices in 7 languages, 1,440 minutes of ElevenLabs voices per year
  • Team "$119 $199 per month, billed annually" ($199 monthly): 21,600 video minutes per year (1,800 per month monthly), 100 GB storage, 2,880 minutes of ElevenLabs voices per year
  • Max export Not stated on the pricing page
  • Avatars Not stated on the pricing page
  • Commercial use Not stated on the pricing page
  • Pricing note The annual prices are shown next to higher struck-through figures, so they may be promotional
See Pictory plans →

Facts from Pictory's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

Pictory sells minutes of finished video by the thousand. Starter is shown as "$25 $29 per month, billed annually" for 2,400 video minutes a year, 5 GB of storage, no watermark and 720 minutes a year of ElevenLabs voices in 29 languages; on monthly billing it is $29 for 200 minutes a month. Professional ($35 a month annual, $59 monthly) triples the minutes to 7,200 a year and adds unlimited standard voices in 7 languages. The page does not state an export resolution, an avatar count or commercial terms, and there is no free plan, only a free-trial button whose length is not stated.

Best avatar presenter on price

Synthesia

Starter is $18 a month billed yearly for 120 minutes of video a year

Basic free (10 min/mo, no download); Starter $18/mo billed yearly ($29 monthly); Creator $64/mo billed yearly ($89 monthly); Enterprise custom
  • Basic (free) $0, no credit card: "Usable for up to 10 minutes of video/month", 9 AI avatars, 160+ languages and voices, Full HD 1920 x 1080. "Download your videos" and "Remove Synthesia logo" are listed from Starter up, not on Basic
  • Starter "$29/month $18/mo" billed yearly ($29 on monthly billing): yearly plan includes 14,500 credits, "usable for up to 580 mins of AI Dubbing / 120 mins of video" per year; monthly plan "up to 48 mins of AI Dubbing / 12 mins of video" per month; 125+ avatars; Full HD 1920 x 1080; download and logo removal included
  • Creator "$89/month $64/mo" billed yearly ($89 monthly): 44,000 credits per year, "up to 1760 mins of AI Dubbing / 360 mins of video" per year; monthly plan 30 minutes of video per month; 180+ avatars; Full HD 1920 x 1080
  • Enterprise Custom pricing, "Unlimited video minutes", 240+ avatars, 1-Click Translations into 80+ languages, book a demo
  • Max export Full HD, 1920 x 1080, stated on Basic, Starter and Creator
  • Free trial "Try for FREE" buttons on the Starter and Creator annual plans
  • Commercial use Not stated on the pricing page
See Synthesia plans →

Facts from Synthesia's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

Synthesia is the avatar tool whose page states minutes. Starter is "$29/month $18/mo" billed yearly and includes 14,500 credits a year, usable for up to 120 minutes of video or 580 minutes of AI dubbing, with 125+ avatars, Full HD 1920 x 1080 export, downloads and logo removal. On monthly billing it is $29 for 12 minutes of video a month. Creator ($64 a month yearly, $89 monthly) is 360 minutes a year and 180+ avatars. The Basic plan is free with no card and allows 10 minutes a month across 9 avatars, but the page lists "Download your videos" and "Remove Synthesia logo" from Starter up, so Basic is for previewing rather than publishing.

Best for generated footage

Runway

Standard is $12 a month annual for 625 credits, stated as 52 seconds of Gen-4.5

Free plan (125 one-time credits); Standard $12/mo billed annually ($15 monthly); Pro $28/mo annual ($35 monthly); Max $76/mo annual ($95 monthly)
  • Free plan Yes: "125 one-time credits to explore Runway's AI tools", "a selection of generative creative models to test concepts", 5 GB storage. Watermark on Free is not stated; "No watermarks" is listed on Standard
  • Standard $12/month billed annually ($15 monthly): "625 credits/mo", "52s of Gen-4.5, 104s of Gen-4 Turbo", "78 Gen-4 Images (1080p)", 4K upscaling, 20 GB storage, "No watermarks"
  • Pro $28/month billed annually ($35 monthly): "2250 credits/mo", "187s of Gen-4.5, 375s of Gen-4 Turbo", "281 Gen-4 Images (1080p)", "Unlimited 4K video upscaling", 100 GB storage
  • Max $76/month billed annually ($95 monthly): "9500 credits/mo", "791s of Gen-4.5", "1900s of Gen-4 Turbo", "Studio-grade quality generations: HDR, ProRes", 500 GB storage, "Roll over unused credits for 1 month"
  • Max export A maximum export resolution is not stated; the page lists credit costs at 1080p and 2K and 4K upscaling on paid plans
  • Avatars Not stated on the pricing page
  • Commercial use Not stated on the pricing page
See Runway plans →

Facts from Runway's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

Runway is the generation tool here, and the cheapest paid plan on the page. Standard is $12 a month billed annually ($15 monthly) for 625 credits a month, which the page converts to 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 or 104 seconds of Gen-4 Turbo, plus 78 Gen-4 images at 1080p, 4K upscaling, 20 GB of storage and no watermarks. Pro ($28 a month annual, $35 monthly) is 2,250 credits, 187 seconds of Gen-4.5 and unlimited 4K upscaling; Max ($76 annual, $95 monthly) is 9,500 credits with HDR and ProRes output and one month of credit rollover. Seconds per dollar are low next to the editing and stock-footage tools, which is why Runway sits fourth on the rule while being the right buy for footage that does not exist yet. The free plan is 125 one-time credits.

Best for 4K avatar video

HeyGen

Pro is $49 a month for 1,000 credits and 4K export; minutes are not stated

Free plan (3 videos/mo, up to 1 minute each, up to 1080p); Creator $24/mo billed annually ($29 monthly); Pro $49/mo; Business $149/mo plus $20/seat/mo
  • Free plan $0: "3 videos per month", up to 1 minute each, "Up to 1080P" export, 500+ stock video avatars, 1 custom video avatar, 30+ languages. "Watermark removal" is listed under Creator as "Everything in Free, plus", so Free videos carry a watermark
  • Creator $29/month, or $24/month on annual billing: 600 credits per month, videos up to 30 minutes, 1080p export, voice cloning, 175+ languages and dialects, watermark removal
  • Pro $49/month: 1,000 credits per month, videos up to 30 minutes, 4K export, access to all advanced AI models. A separate annual price is not stated
  • Business $149/month plus $20 per seat per month: 1,500 credits per month, videos up to 60 minutes, 4K export, 5 custom video avatars, SAML/SSO
  • Enterprise Contact sales: no video duration maximum, 10+ custom avatars, dedicated customer success manager
  • What a credit buys Not stated as minutes. The page says credits are "HeyGen's single currency for video and asset creation" and that usage "can vary based on which AI model is used, video duration, and the complexity of the generation"
  • Voices 1,000+ on every plan
  • Commercial use Not stated on the pricing page
See HeyGen plans →

Facts from HeyGen's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

HeyGen ranks last on the rule for one reason: its page prices in credits and says the credits a video uses "can vary based on which AI model is used, video duration, and the complexity of the generation", so there is no stated minute figure to divide by the price. What it does state is competitive. Creator is $29 a month, or $24 on annual billing, for 600 credits, videos up to 30 minutes, 1080p export, voice cloning, 175+ languages and dialects and watermark removal. Pro at $49 a month adds 4K export and all advanced models; Business is $149 a month plus $20 a seat for 1,500 credits, 60-minute videos and 5 custom avatars. The free plan allows 3 videos a month of up to 1 minute at up to 1080p with a watermark, and includes 500+ stock avatars, 1 custom avatar and 30+ languages.

Which one should you actually get?

Head to head

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the job, and the pricing pages settle it. For editing recorded video, Descript gives the most stated quota per dollar: 10 media hours a month for $16 per person on annual billing, with 1080p watermark-free export. For turning scripts and articles into stock-footage videos, Pictory Starter gives 2,400 video minutes a year for $25 a month billed annually. For avatar presenters, Synthesia Starter is $18 a month billed yearly for 120 minutes of video a year. For generating footage from text or images, Runway Standard is $12 a month billed annually for 625 credits, which its page states as 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 or 104 seconds of Gen-4 Turbo. HeyGen prices in credits without stating minutes, so it ranks last on this page's rule.

Descript and Runway. Descript Free gives 60 minutes of media a month with 720p watermarked export. Runway Free gives 125 one-time credits and 5 GB of storage; its page does not say whether free generations carry a watermark. Synthesia Basic allows 10 minutes of video a month but lists downloading and logo removal as Starter features, and HeyGen Free allows 3 one-minute videos a month with a watermark that Creator removes. Pictory has no free plan, only a free trial of unstated length.

On annual billing, Runway Standard at $12 a month is the lowest paid price on this page, followed by Descript Hobbyist at $16 per person, Synthesia Starter at $18, HeyGen Creator at $24 and Pictory Starter at $25. Monthly billing is higher on every page that shows it: Runway $15, Descript $24, Synthesia $29, HeyGen $29 and Pictory $29.

Descript states 4K on Creator ($24 per person a month annual) and Business. HeyGen states 4K on Pro ($49 a month) and Business. Runway lists 4K upscaling on Standard and unlimited 4K upscaling on Pro but does not state a native maximum. Synthesia states Full HD 1920 x 1080 on Basic, Starter and Creator. Pictory does not state an export resolution on its pricing page.

Synthesia states minutes: Starter is 120 minutes of video a year on the yearly plan (12 a month on monthly billing), Creator is 360 a year, and Enterprise is unlimited. HeyGen states credits, not minutes: 600 a month on Creator, 1,000 on Pro, 1,500 on Business, and its page says the credits a video uses vary with the model, duration and complexity.

Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-09-05 and is linked under each card. Pictory and Descript show their annual prices next to higher figures, so those may be promotional; the linked page is the authority.