Best AI Voice Generators (September 2026), Decided on Published Plans

ElevenLabs is the best AI voice generator for most people: Starter is $5 a month billed annually ($6 monthly) and includes a commercial licence, instant voice cloning and 30,000 credits a month, with one credit per text character on its V2 Multilingual models. Choose Speechify Studio if you produce long voiceovers: Studio Starter is $100 a year for 86,400 credits, which at its stated rate of one credit per second is 24 hours of audio, with voice cloning and commercial rights included. Choose WellSaid if you want plans metered in plain download minutes, and Murf if its 200+ voice library and Business licence matter more than price.

See ElevenLabs plans →

The four, side by side

AI voice generators compared on the vendors' published plans, checked 2026-09-05
Feature ElevenLabs 🏆 Speechify Studio WellSaid Murf AI
Free plan 10k credits/mo; no commercial licence listed 600 credits; no commercial rights; no cloning Trial: 3 download minutes/mo; no commercial rights 10 minutes; no downloads; no commercial rights
Cheapest paid tier Starter $5/mo annual ($60/yr), $6 monthly ✅ Studio Starter $100/yr (annual only) Starter $10/mo annual ($120/yr), $19 monthly Creator $19/mo billed $228/yr
Output on that tier 30k credits/mo (1 credit = 1 character, V2 Multilingual) 86,400 credits/yr (1 credit per second; 24 hrs derived) ✅ 240 download minutes/yr (20/mo) 24 hrs/yr of voice generation
Commercial use Starter and up ✅ Studio Starter and up Starter and up Creator and up; Business License on Business
Voice cloning Instant from Starter; Professional from Creator ✅ Studio Starter and up Not stated Enterprise add-on only
Voices stated Not stated 1,000+ Not stated 200+

Prices are the vendors' USD figures on the billing period shown. ElevenLabs states that annual billing equals ten monthly payments; Murf shows a Saved 33% label for yearly billing; WellSaid shows Save 47% on Starter; Speechify Studio lists annual prices only. Sources and dates are under each card below.

How we decide

AI voice generators are decided on four published facts: whether the cheapest paid tier includes a commercial licence, what that tier costs for a year, how much output it states (characters or minutes), and whether the free plan can be used for real work.

  • The ranking rule for this page: Rank by whether the cheapest paid tier includes a commercial licence, then by that tier's annual price, then by stated output per dollar where the units allow a comparison, then by the usefulness of the free plan; promotional first-month prices do not move the ranking.
  • Where the facts come from: each product's own pricing and documentation pages, linked under every card with the date we checked them. When a vendor changes a plan, the fact changes here on the next check, and the date moves.
  • What we do not do: star ratings, review counts, or claims to have tested the software in a lab. We compare what the companies publish, and we say when two products are close.
  • How we are paid: some links pay us a commission if you start a paid plan. That is disclosed in the footer, it never changes the price you pay, and products with no partner program are ranked on the same rule as products with one.

The picks

Best for most people

ElevenLabs

The cheapest commercial tier here, with instant voice cloning from $5 a month

Free plan (10k credits/mo); Starter $5/mo billed annually ($6 monthly), 30k credits/mo, commercial licence; Creator $18.33/mo billed annually ($22 monthly, first month $11), 121k credits/mo
  • Free plan Yes: $0, 10k credits per month, Text to Speech, Speech to Text, Sound Effects, Voice Design, Music, Productions, Image, 3 Projects in Studio. Commercial License is not listed on Free; it appears under Starter as an addition to Free
  • Starter $6 per month on monthly billing, $5 per month on annual billing (the FAQ states annual price = monthly price x 10): 30k credits per month, Commercial License, Instant Voice Cloning, 20 Projects in Studio, Music commercial use, Dubbing Studio
  • Creator $22 per month on monthly billing with "First month 50% off" ($11 shown), $18.33 per month on annual billing: 121k credits per month, Professional Voice Cloning, Additional Credits
  • Pro $99 per month on monthly billing, $82.50 per month on annual billing: 600k credits per month, 44.1kHz PCM audio output via API, 192kbps audio
  • Scale and Business Scale $299 per month ($249.17 annual): 1.8M credits, 3 seats, 3 Professional Voice Clones. Business $990 per month ($825 annual): 6M credits, 10 seats, 10 Professional Voice Clones. Enterprise is custom pricing
  • Credits FAQ: "For V2 Multilingual models, 1 text character equals 1 credit"; Flash/Turbo models cost 0.5 to 1 credit per character on API usage
  • Voice cloning Instant Voice Cloning from Starter; Professional Voice Cloning from Creator
  • Number of voices Not stated on the pricing page (the plan cards list custom voice slots, not a library count)
See ElevenLabs plans →

Facts from ElevenLabs' pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

ElevenLabs wins on the first two tests of the rule. Starter is $6 a month on monthly billing and $5 a month on annual billing, which the FAQ defines as ten monthly payments, so $60 a year. That tier lists a Commercial License, Instant Voice Cloning, 20 Studio projects, Dubbing Studio and 30,000 credits a month; the FAQ states that one text character is one credit on the V2 Multilingual models, so roughly 30,000 characters a month of the standard voices. Creator at $22 monthly ($18.33 billed annually, and a first-month 50% promotion showing $11) raises that to 121,000 credits and adds Professional Voice Cloning. The free plan has 10,000 credits and every product feature, but the commercial licence is listed as a Starter addition, so treat Free as a workbench. The page does not state how many library voices exist, and it does not convert credits to minutes on the plan cards.

Best hours per dollar

Speechify Studio

24 hours of voiceover a year for $100, with cloning and commercial rights

Free plan (600 Studio credits, no commercial rights); Studio Starter $100/year (about $8.33/mo, annual only), 86,400 credits, voice cloning, commercial rights; Studio Creator $300/year, 345,600 credits
  • Free plan Yes: $0, 600 Studio credits, access to 1,000+ realistic voices, Voiceover Studio, Dubbing Studio, Voice Changer, "No Voice Cloning", "No commercial usage rights". FAQ: the free plan lasts as long as you want; downloading to mp3 requires a paid plan
  • Studio Starter $100 per year, no monthly option shown: 86,400 Studio credits, access to 1,000+ realistic voices, Voice Cloning, stock music, video, images and sound effects, "Commercial usage rights"
  • Studio Creator $300 per year, labelled Best Value: 345,600 Studio credits, everything in Studio Starter
  • Credits FAQ: "Voiceover 1 credit per second, Dubbing 3 credits per second, Avatar 30 credits per second"; re-exporting unchanged speech is free. Derived: 86,400 credits is 24 hours of voiceover a year, 345,600 is 96 hours, 600 is 10 minutes
  • Voice cloning Included on Studio Starter and Studio Creator; not on Free
  • Commercial rights FAQ: "With Studio you own the audio output and commercial rights in perpetuity"; the Free card states no commercial usage rights
  • Separate product The Speechify Text to Speech Reader app is a different subscription (Premium $29 per month on monthly billing on speechify.com/pricing); it is a reading app, not the voiceover studio
See Speechify Studio plans →

Facts from Speechify Studio's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

Speechify Studio is the budget pick for volume. Studio Starter is $100 a year, sold annually only, for 86,400 Studio credits, 1,000+ voices, voice cloning, stock media and commercial usage rights. The FAQ states voiceover costs one credit per second and re-exporting unchanged speech is free, so 86,400 credits is 24 hours of new voiceover a year; Studio Creator at $300 a year has 345,600 credits, or 96 hours. The free plan's 600 credits are ten minutes, the card states no commercial usage rights and no voice cloning, and the FAQ says downloading to mp3 needs a paid plan. Note that Speechify's better-known $29 a month Premium plan is the Text to Speech Reader app, a separate subscription that is not the studio.

Simplest minute metering

WellSaid

Download minutes, full commercial rights, and the largest annual discount shown

Free trial (3 download minutes/mo, no commercial rights); Starter $10/mo billed annually ($120/yr, $19 monthly), 240 download minutes/yr; Pro $33/mo billed annually ($396/yr, $49 monthly), 2,160 download minutes/yr
  • Free plan Trial: no credit card required, "3 download minutes per month (no commercial rights)", curated voices, studio controls
  • Starter $19 per month on monthly billing; $10 per month billed annually at $120 per year, shown as Save 47%: 20 download minutes per month, 240 minutes per year on annual, "Full commercial rights"
  • Pro $49 per month on monthly billing; $33 per month billed annually at $396 per year, shown as Save 33%: 180 download minutes per month, 2,160 minutes per year on annual, "Full commercial rights"
  • Business $160 per month per user billed annually at $1,920 per year: 2,880 minutes per year per user, up to 5 seats. Enterprise is custom
  • Metering Plans are metered in downloaded minutes, not characters
  • Voice cloning Not stated on the pricing page
  • Number of voices Not stated on the pricing page
See WellSaid plans →

Facts from WellSaid's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.

WellSaid meters everything in downloaded minutes. Starter is $19 a month on monthly billing or $10 a month billed annually at $120 a year (the page labels that Save 47%), for 20 download minutes a month, 240 a year, with full commercial rights. Pro is $49 monthly or $33 billed annually at $396 a year for 180 minutes a month, 2,160 a year. The free trial is three download minutes a month with no commercial rights. Four hours a year on Starter is the least output of the four entry tiers, and the pricing page does not mention voice cloning or a voice count, so WellSaid ranks third: commercial licence on the cheapest tier, at a price between Speechify Studio and Murf.

Largest stated voice library

Murf AI

200+ voices and a Business licence tier, at the highest entry price here

Free plan (10 minutes, no downloads, no commercial rights); Creator $19/mo billed $228 annually, 24 hours/yr of voice generation, commercial rights; Business $66/mo billed $792 annually, 96 hours/yr, business licence
  • Free plan Yes: $0, no credit card required, 10 Projects, 10 minutes of Voice Generation, 1 Editor, "Everything in Business Plan (No Downloads)", "No Commercial Rights"
  • Creator $19 per month, $228 billed annually (the page shows a Saved 33% label for yearly billing; the monthly-billing figure did not render on the check date): 100 Projects, 24 hours per year of Voice Generation, 1 Editor, all 200+ voices, unlimited downloads, Canva integration, "Commercial Rights"
  • Business $66 per month, $792 billed annually: 500 Projects, 96 hours per year of Voice Generation, 1 Editor, "Business License", Emphasis, Variability, Say It My Way, PowerPoint integration, Audio to Text, 48 hours of transcription
  • Enterprise Custom pricing: unlimited voice generation, custom editors, SSO, AI Translation, "Custom Voice Clones (Add-on)", Full Broadcasting Rights as an add-on
  • Number of voices 200+ AI voices on Creator and Business; 30+ languages and accents
  • Voice cloning Listed only as an Enterprise add-on ("Custom Voice Clones (Add-on)"); not on Creator or Business
  • Licence note Creator has "Commercial Rights"; "Business License" is a Business-plan line item, and the FAQ lists a question on the difference between Personal and Business License
See Murf AI plans →

Facts from Murf's pricing page (Studio tab, annual billing view), checked 2026-09-05.

Murf's Creator plan is $19 a month billed $228 annually, for 100 projects, 24 hours a year of voice generation, all 200+ voices in 30+ languages and accents, unlimited downloads, Canva integration and commercial rights. Business at $66 a month billed $792 annually raises that to 96 hours and 500 projects and adds the Business License, Emphasis, Variability, PowerPoint integration and 48 hours of transcription. Creator's 24 hours a year matches Speechify Studio Starter's output for more than twice the price, which is why Murf ranks last on the rule. The free plan is 10 minutes with no downloads and no commercial rights, and voice cloning is listed only as an Enterprise add-on.

Which one should you actually get?

Head to head

Frequently Asked Questions

On published plans, ElevenLabs is the best AI voice generator for most people: its Starter plan is $5 a month billed annually ($6 monthly) and includes a commercial licence, instant voice cloning and 30,000 credits a month, where one credit is one text character on the V2 Multilingual models. Speechify Studio is the pick for long voiceovers on a budget: Studio Starter is $100 a year for 86,400 credits, which its own credit rate (one per second of voiceover) makes 24 hours of audio, with voice cloning and commercial rights. WellSaid and Murf both cost more for the same or less output on their entry tiers.

ElevenLabs Starter at $5 a month billed annually ($60 a year) is the lowest annual price on this page that includes a commercial licence. Speechify Studio Starter is $100 a year, WellSaid Starter is $120 a year ($10 a month billed annually) and Murf Creator is $228 a year ($19 a month billed annually). Every one of those four entry tiers states commercial rights; none of the free plans do.

No. Speechify Studio Free states "No commercial usage rights", WellSaid's trial states "no commercial rights", Murf Free states "No Commercial Rights" and also allows no downloads, and ElevenLabs lists "Commercial License" as something Starter adds on top of Free. Commercial use starts at the first paid tier on all four.

Among the minute-metered plans: Speechify Studio Starter gives 24 hours of voiceover a year (86,400 credits at one credit per second) for $100, Murf Creator gives 24 hours a year for $228, and WellSaid Starter gives 240 download minutes a year for $120. ElevenLabs meters in credits per character (30,000 a month on Starter for $60 a year), which the pages do not convert to minutes, so it is not directly comparable on this measure.

ElevenLabs includes Instant Voice Cloning from Starter and Professional Voice Cloning from Creator ($18.33 a month billed annually). Speechify Studio includes Voice Cloning on Studio Starter and Studio Creator. Murf lists custom voice clones only as an Enterprise add-on. WellSaid's pricing page does not mention voice cloning.

Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-09-05 and is linked under each card. ElevenLabs shows a first-month promotion on Creator, Murf and WellSaid show annual-billing discounts, and Speechify Studio is sold annually only; the linked page is the authority, and this page is updated on each check.