ElevenLabs vs Murf
ElevenLabs is the better buy for an individual or a small channel: Starter is $5 a month billed annually ($6 monthly) with a commercial licence, instant voice cloning and 30,000 credits a month, and Creator at $18.33 billed annually adds professional cloning. Murf is the better buy for a business that wants its licence spelled out: Creator is $19 a month billed $228 annually for 24 hours a year with commercial rights, and Business at $66 a month billed $792 annually adds a Business License, 96 hours and a 200+ voice library the page counts. Cloning on Murf is an Enterprise add-on only.
Side by side, from the two pricing pages
| Feature | ElevenLabs | Murf AI |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 10k credits/mo, all features; no commercial licence listed | 10 minutes; no downloads; no commercial rights |
| Cheapest paid tier | Starter $5/mo annual ($60/yr), $6 monthly | Creator $19/mo billed $228/yr |
| Output on that tier | 30k credits/mo (1 credit = 1 character, V2 Multilingual) | 24 hrs/yr voice generation, 100 projects |
| Next tier | Creator $18.33/mo annual ($22 monthly, first month $11): 121k credits | Business $66/mo billed $792/yr: 96 hrs/yr, 500 projects, Business License |
| Commercial use | Commercial License from Starter | Commercial Rights from Creator; Business License on Business |
| Voice cloning | Instant from Starter; Professional from Creator | Enterprise add-on only |
| Voices stated | Not stated | 200+ voices, 30+ languages and accents |
Price: $60 a year against $228
The gap at the entry tier is nearly four to one. ElevenLabs Starter is $6 on monthly billing and $5 on annual billing, which the FAQ defines as paying for ten months, so $60 a year. Murf Creator is $19 a month billed $228 annually. Both entry tiers state commercial use: ElevenLabs lists "Commercial License" under Starter, Murf lists "Commercial Rights" under Creator. What Murf adds for the money is the count it publishes, 200+ voices in 30+ languages and accents, 100 projects and unlimited downloads; ElevenLabs' page does not publish a voice count at all.
One tier up, the gap narrows. ElevenLabs Creator is $22 monthly, $18.33 billed annually, with a first-month 50% promotion showing $11, for 121,000 credits and professional voice cloning. Murf Business is $66 a month billed $792 annually for 96 hours, 500 projects and the Business License line item.
Characters against hours
The two vendors meter differently and neither page bridges the gap. ElevenLabs sells credits and states that one text character is one credit on the V2 Multilingual models (0.5 to 1 credit on the Flash and Turbo models over the API), so Starter's 30,000 credits is a script budget. Murf sells hours of generated audio a year: 24 on Creator, 96 on Business, with no per-month cap stated on the annual plans. If you know your scripts in characters, ElevenLabs is the easier plan to size; if you know your output in finished minutes, Murf is.
Voice cloning is the clearest split
ElevenLabs includes Instant Voice Cloning on Starter and Professional Voice Cloning on Creator, with three professional clones on Scale and ten on Business. Murf's page lists "Custom Voice Clones (Add-on)" only under Enterprise, which is custom priced. Anyone who needs their own voice, or a client's, is an ElevenLabs customer on the published plans.
Two kinds of licence
Murf draws a line ElevenLabs does not: Creator has "Commercial Rights", Business has a "Business License", and the FAQ carries a question on the difference between the Personal and Business licences, with "Full Broadcasting Rights" as an add-on. ElevenLabs lists a single "Commercial License" from Starter upward, plus "Music commercial use". A company whose legal team wants a named business licence will find one on Murf's page; a creator who wants one commercial licence at the lowest price will find it on ElevenLabs.
ElevenLabs
✓ Pros
- Starter is $5 a month billed annually with a commercial licence
- Instant voice cloning from Starter, professional from Creator
- Free plan keeps every product feature and 10,000 credits a month
- Annual billing is stated as ten monthly payments
✗ Cons
- Credits are characters, and the page does not convert them to minutes
- No voice count stated on the pricing page
- Commercial licence is not listed on Free
- Creator's $11 is a first-month promotion only
Murf AI
✓ Pros
- 200+ voices in 30+ languages and accents, counted on the page
- Hours of generation stated per year: 24 on Creator, 96 on Business
- A named Business License tier and unlimited downloads
- Free plan needs no credit card
✗ Cons
- Creator is $228 a year, nearly four times ElevenLabs Starter
- Voice cloning is an Enterprise add-on only
- Free plan allows no downloads and no commercial rights
- Monthly-billing price did not render on the check date
Verdict
Take ElevenLabs if you are one person or a small team, if you need voice cloning, or if $60 a year with a commercial licence is the number that matters. Take Murf if you want a published voice count, a named Business License, and hours rather than characters as the unit, and you will pay $228 or $792 a year for it. On the core job of turning a script into a commercial voiceover, both entry tiers do it; the price and the cloning decide.
ElevenLabs
- Free plan Yes: $0, 10k credits per month, Text to Speech, Speech to Text, Sound Effects, Voice Design, Music, Productions, Image, 3 Projects in Studio. Commercial License is not listed on Free; it appears under Starter as an addition to Free
- Starter $6 per month on monthly billing, $5 per month on annual billing (the FAQ states annual price = monthly price x 10): 30k credits per month, Commercial License, Instant Voice Cloning, 20 Projects in Studio, Music commercial use, Dubbing Studio
- Creator $22 per month on monthly billing with "First month 50% off" ($11 shown), $18.33 per month on annual billing: 121k credits per month, Professional Voice Cloning, Additional Credits
- Pro $99 per month on monthly billing, $82.50 per month on annual billing: 600k credits per month, 44.1kHz PCM audio output via API, 192kbps audio
- Scale and Business Scale $299 per month ($249.17 annual): 1.8M credits, 3 seats, 3 Professional Voice Clones. Business $990 per month ($825 annual): 6M credits, 10 seats, 10 Professional Voice Clones. Enterprise is custom pricing
- Credits FAQ: "For V2 Multilingual models, 1 text character equals 1 credit"; Flash/Turbo models cost 0.5 to 1 credit per character on API usage
- Voice cloning Instant Voice Cloning from Starter; Professional Voice Cloning from Creator
- Number of voices Not stated on the pricing page (the plan cards list custom voice slots, not a library count)
Facts from ElevenLabs' pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Murf AI
- Free plan Yes: $0, no credit card required, 10 Projects, 10 minutes of Voice Generation, 1 Editor, "Everything in Business Plan (No Downloads)", "No Commercial Rights"
- Creator $19 per month, $228 billed annually (the page shows a Saved 33% label for yearly billing; the monthly-billing figure did not render on the check date): 100 Projects, 24 hours per year of Voice Generation, 1 Editor, all 200+ voices, unlimited downloads, Canva integration, "Commercial Rights"
- Business $66 per month, $792 billed annually: 500 Projects, 96 hours per year of Voice Generation, 1 Editor, "Business License", Emphasis, Variability, Say It My Way, PowerPoint integration, Audio to Text, 48 hours of transcription
- Enterprise Custom pricing: unlimited voice generation, custom editors, SSO, AI Translation, "Custom Voice Clones (Add-on)", Full Broadcasting Rights as an add-on
- Number of voices 200+ AI voices on Creator and Business; 30+ languages and accents
- Voice cloning Listed only as an Enterprise add-on ("Custom Voice Clones (Add-on)"); not on Creator or Business
- Licence note Creator has "Commercial Rights"; "Business License" is a Business-plan line item, and the FAQ lists a question on the difference between Personal and Business License
Facts from Murf's pricing page (Studio tab, annual billing view), checked 2026-09-05.
Frequently Asked Questions
On published plans, ElevenLabs is cheaper and includes voice cloning: Starter is $5 a month billed annually ($6 monthly) with a commercial licence, instant voice cloning and 30,000 credits a month, and Creator at $18.33 billed annually adds professional cloning. Murf Creator is $19 a month billed $228 annually for 24 hours a year of voice generation with commercial rights, and cloning is only an Enterprise add-on. Murf states a 200+ voice library and sells a separate Business License tier at $66 a month billed annually; ElevenLabs does not state a voice count.
They do not convert on the pricing pages. ElevenLabs states that one text character is one credit on its V2 Multilingual models, so Starter's 30,000 credits is about 30,000 characters a month. Murf states hours of voice generation a year: 24 on Creator, 96 on Business. Neither page gives a characters-per-minute figure, so compare them by what you write: a script length for ElevenLabs, a finished-audio length for Murf.
ElevenLabs Free has 10,000 credits a month and every product feature (text to speech, speech to text, sound effects, voice design, music, three Studio projects), but the commercial licence is listed under Starter, not Free. Murf Free is 10 minutes of voice generation with everything in the Business plan but no downloads and no commercial rights. Neither is usable for published work; ElevenLabs Free is the more useful sandbox because it lets you keep the output.
Murf's pricing page lists "Custom Voice Clones (Add-on)" under Enterprise only. Creator and Business do not list cloning. ElevenLabs includes Instant Voice Cloning from Starter and Professional Voice Cloning from Creator.
Every price here was read from the two vendors' pricing pages on 2026-09-05. ElevenLabs shows a first-month 50% promotion on Creator; Murf's page was read in its annual-billing view, which shows a Saved 33% label, and its monthly-billing figure did not render on that date. The linked pages are the authority.