Best AI Meeting Note Takers (September 2026)
Otter.ai is the best AI meeting note taker for most people: the free Basic plan records Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet with automated summaries, 300 transcription minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation, and Pro is $8.33 per user a month billed annually for 1,200 minutes and 90-minute conversations. Choose Fireflies.ai if you want unlimited transcription without paying and the platforms in writing: the free plan names Zoom, Google Meet and MS Teams, transcribes in 100+ languages and gives limited AI summaries, and Pro is $10 per seat a month billed annually for unlimited summaries. Choose Fathom if you want a free plan with no stated limit of any kind: it lists unlimited recordings and transcriptions with AI summaries, and Premium is $16 a month billed annually. Choose Notta if you record long sessions and will pay: Pro is $8.17 a month billed annually for 1,800 minutes at up to 5 hours per recording, but the free plan stops at 3 minutes per conversation.
See Otter.ai plans →The four, side by side
| Feature | Otter.ai 🏆 | Fireflies.ai | Fathom | Notta |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 300 min/month, 30 min per conversation, summaries ✅ | Unlimited transcription, limited AI summaries (count not stated), 400 min storage per team | Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, summaries ✅ | 120 min/month, 3 min per conversation, 10 summaries/month |
| Lowest paid plan | Pro $8.33/user/mo annual ($16.99 monthly) ✅ | Pro $10/seat/mo annual ($18 monthly) | Premium $16/mo annual ($20 monthly); Team $15/user/mo annual, 2-user minimum | Pro $8.17/mo annual ($97.99/yr, labelled 40% off monthly) |
| Paid minutes and caps | Pro 1,200 min/month, 90 min cap; Business unlimited, 4 hr cap | No minute allowance; feature table states a 3-hour recording limit; storage 8,000 min/seat on Pro, unlimited on Business | No minute allowance or meeting cap stated | Pro 1,800 min/month, 5 hr per recording; Business unlimited |
| Meeting platforms named | Zoom, MS Teams, Google Meet ✅ | Zoom, Google Meet, MS Teams, "10+" more ✅ | Not stated on the pricing page | Zoom, MS Teams, Google Meet, Webex ✅ |
| AI summaries | Every plan | Limited on Free; unlimited from Pro | Every plan; custom summaries on Business | Every plan, with a monthly quota (10 / 100 / 200) |
| Trial | Not stated | Not stated | Free trial on paid plans | 7-day Business trial |
Prices are the vendors' USD figures on the billing period shown; Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai and Fathom prices are per user or per seat. Notta's annual price is labelled 40% off its monthly rate; Fireflies' toggle says "save up to 44%" on annual billing. Sources and dates are under each card below.
How we decide
AI meeting note takers are decided on four published facts: whether the free plan records a whole meeting with an AI summary, the regular price per user on annual billing, the transcription minutes and per-meeting cap each tier states, and which meeting platforms the pricing page names.
- The ranking rule for this page: Rank by a usable free plan with AI summaries first (a per-meeting cap under 30 minutes disqualifies it), then by the lowest regular annual price per user, then by stated monthly minutes; month-to-month prices are shown but do not move the ranking.
- Where the facts come from: each product's own pricing and documentation pages, linked under every card with the date we checked them. When a vendor changes a plan, the fact changes here on the next check, and the date moves.
- What we do not do: star ratings, review counts, or claims to have tested the software in a lab. We compare what the companies publish, and we say when two products are close.
- How we are paid: some links pay us a commission if you start a paid plan. That is disclosed in the footer, it never changes the price you pay, and products with no partner program are ranked on the same rule as products with one.
Applied to four products, the rule works like this. Three free plans qualify: Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai and Fathom all list AI summaries on the free plan and none states a per-meeting cap under 30 minutes (Otter's is 30 minutes exactly; Fireflies' feature table states a 3-hour recording limit; Fathom states none). Notta's 3-minute cap disqualifies its free plan, so it ranks last. Among the three, the lowest annual price per user decides: Otter.ai Pro at $8.33, then Fireflies.ai Pro at $10, then Fathom Premium at $16. One point needs saying plainly: Fireflies' free tier gives unlimited transcription but only "limited AI summaries", and the page does not state how many. Because the rule asks for AI summaries on the free plan, Fireflies is judged on that stated limit, not on its unlimited transcription; that is why its free plan does not outrank Fathom's, where summaries carry no stated limit, even though both state unlimited transcription.
The picks
Otter.ai
A free plan that covers real meetings on Zoom, Teams and Meet, and the cheapest per-user Pro plan with a usable free tier
- Free plan Basic: 300 transcription minutes per month, 30 minutes per conversation, automated summaries with action items and outlines
- Pro $8.33 per user per month billed annually, or $16.99 per user month to month: 1,200 transcription minutes per month, 90 minutes per conversation
- Business $19.99 per user per month billed annually, or $30 per user month to month: unlimited transcription minutes, 4 hours per conversation, unlimited audio and video file imports
- Enterprise Price on request (schedule a demo); unlimited minutes, 4 hours per conversation, custom CRM and dialer integrations
- Meeting platforms Zoom, MS Teams and Google Meet, listed on every plan including Basic
- Other integrations Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier listed from Pro up
- AI summaries Listed on every plan, including the free Basic plan
- Free trial Not stated on the pricing page
Facts from Otter.ai's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Otter.ai wins on the rule because its free plan does the job and its paid plan is the cheapest among the products with a usable free tier. Basic gives 300 transcription minutes a month at up to 30 minutes per conversation, with automated summaries, action items and outlines, and it lists Zoom, MS Teams and Google Meet on every plan. Pro at $8.33 per user a month billed annually ($16.99 month to month) raises that to 1,200 minutes and 90-minute conversations and adds Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier. Business at $19.99 per user a month billed annually ($30 month to month) removes the monthly minute limit and allows 4-hour conversations. The pricing page does not state a free trial. The 30-minute cap on the free plan is the number to check against your calendar: a weekly hour-long meeting needs Pro, or one of the two free plans below that state no such cap.
Fireflies.ai
Unlimited free transcription with the platforms named, and unlimited AI summaries from $10 a seat a month billed annually
- Free plan $0, "free forever": unlimited transcription (marked with an asterisk the page text does not explain), limited AI summaries (no count stated), 400 minutes of storage per team, 20 AI credits; AskFred AI assistant, meeting search, real-time notes, file upload, desktop, mobile, Chrome extension and API access
- Pro $10 per seat per month billed annually, or $18 month to month: unlimited transcription and AI summaries, 8,000 minutes of storage per seat, 20 AI credits; adds video recording, downloads of transcripts, summaries and recordings, Personal and Email Assistants, AI Skills, Voice Agents, action items and task manager, unlimited integrations
- Business $19 per seat per month billed annually, or $29 month to month, labelled "most popular": unlimited storage, 30 AI credits; adds multi-language mode, conversation intelligence, team analytics for admins, public meeting access, user groups
- Enterprise $39 per seat per month billed annually, annual only, contact sales: 50 AI credits; rules engine, SSO and SCIM, audit logs via API, HIPAA compliance, private storage, custom data retention, super admin role, dedicated account manager
- Minutes and caps No monthly transcription minute allowance on any plan; the feature table states a 3-hour recording limit and 720p meeting video
- Meeting platforms Zoom, Google Meet, MS Teams and "10+" more, from the free plan up; a Chrome extension records without the Fireflies bot
- Languages Transcription in 100+ languages on every plan; multi-language mode from Business
- AI summaries Limited on the free plan (count not stated); unlimited from Pro up
- Security SOC 2 Type II and GDPR listed; HIPAA on Enterprise
- Free trial Not stated on the pricing page
Facts from Fireflies' pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Fireflies.ai ranks second because its free plan qualifies and its Pro plan is the next cheapest after Otter's. The free plan is described as free forever and lists unlimited transcription (the page marks it with an asterisk that the text read does not explain), limited AI summaries with no count stated, 400 minutes of storage per team and 20 AI credits, and it names Zoom, GMeet, Teams and "10+" more, transcription in 100+ languages, real-time notes, meeting search, the AskFred assistant, file upload, desktop and mobile apps, a Chrome extension and API access. Pro is $10 per seat a month billed annually, or $18 month to month, for unlimited AI summaries, 8,000 minutes of storage per seat, video recording, downloads of transcripts, summaries and recordings, Personal and Email Assistants, AI Skills, Voice Agents, a task manager and unlimited integrations. Business, labelled most popular, is $19 per seat a month billed annually ($29 month to month) for unlimited storage, 30 AI credits, multi-language mode, conversation intelligence and team analytics. Enterprise is $39 per seat a month, annual only, with SSO and SCIM, audit logs, HIPAA compliance and private storage. The feature table states a 3-hour recording limit, 720p meeting video, and SOC 2 Type II and GDPR. No free trial is stated. The reason it does not take the best-free-plan badge is the one already given: its free summaries are limited and uncounted, where Fathom's are not.
Fathom
Unlimited recordings and transcriptions at $0, with AI summaries and no stated limit on them
- Free plan $0, "free forever": unlimited recordings and transcriptions, choice of bot-free and bot capture types, instant AI call summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls
- Premium $16 per user per month billed annually, or $20 month to month: advanced call summaries; free trial offered
- Team $15 per user per month billed annually, or $19 month to month, 2-user minimum; includes everything in Premium
- Business $25 per user per month billed annually, or $34 month to month, 2-user minimum; advanced call summaries including custom summaries
- Enterprise Price on request ("talk to sales")
- Minutes and caps No monthly minute allowance or per-meeting length cap is stated on the pricing page
- Meeting platforms Not stated on the pricing page (Zoom and Google Meet appear only in competitor-comparison links)
- Other integrations Asana, ChatGPT, Claude, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zapier, public API and MCP
- AI summaries Listed on every plan, including the free plan
Facts from Fathom's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Fathom's free plan states the most generous allowance on this page: unlimited recordings and transcriptions, a choice of bot-free and bot capture types, instant AI call summaries, and clips, playlists and search across calls, described as free forever. No monthly minute figure, no per-meeting cap and no summary quota appear on the pricing page, which is why it holds the free-plan badge over Fireflies. It ranks third rather than higher because the rule falls through to price once free plans are usable, and Fathom's Premium at $16 a month billed annually ($20 month to month) is roughly double Otter's Pro and $6 above Fireflies' Pro. Team is $15 per user a month billed annually with a two-user minimum; Business is $25 per user a month billed annually ($34 month to month) and adds custom summaries. The pricing page names Asana, ChatGPT, Claude, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zapier and a public API and MCP as integrations, but does not name Zoom, Google Meet or Microsoft Teams, so confirm platform support in Fathom's own documentation before relying on it.
Notta
Five-hour recordings and the longest integration list, on a paid plan
- Free plan $0, no credit card: 120 transcription minutes per month, up to 3 minutes per conversation, 10 AI summaries per month
- Pro $8.17 per month billed annually ($97.99 total, labelled 40% off the monthly rate): 1,800 transcription minutes per month, up to 5 hours per recording, 100 AI summaries per month
- Business $16.67 per month billed annually ($199.99 total, labelled 40% off the monthly rate): unlimited transcription, up to 5 hours per recording, 200 AI summaries per month
- Enterprise Custom pricing, starting from 51 seats; unlimited AI summaries
- Meeting platforms Zoom, MS Teams, Google Meet and Webex, listed on the free plan and up
- Other integrations Paid plans list Slack, Outlook Calendar, Google Calendar, Notion, Zapier, Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive, Box, Google Drive, SharePoint, Dropbox and OneDrive
- AI summaries On every plan, with a monthly quota: 10 free, 100 Pro, 200 Business
- Free trial A 7-day Business trial is offered
Facts from Notta's pricing page, checked 2026-09-05.
Notta ranks fourth because its free plan is not usable for meetings: 120 minutes a month but only 3 minutes per conversation and 10 AI summaries a month. On a paid plan the picture changes. Pro is $8.17 a month billed annually ($97.99 a year, labelled 40% off the monthly rate) for 1,800 transcription minutes a month, recordings of up to 5 hours and 100 AI summaries a month. Business is $16.67 a month billed annually ($199.99 a year) for unlimited transcription and 200 AI summaries a month. The pricing page names Zoom, MS Teams, Google Meet and Webex from the free plan up, and on paid plans adds Slack, Outlook and Google Calendar, Notion, Zapier, Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive and the major cloud drives. A 7-day Business trial is offered. If you will pay from day one and record long sessions, Notta Pro is the lowest annual price here.
Which one should you actually get?
- You want a free note taker for normal meetings on Zoom, Teams or Meet: Otter.ai Basic, as long as your meetings run under 30 minutes; otherwise Fireflies.ai Free, which names those platforms and states a 3-hour recording limit, accepting that its AI summaries are limited to an unstated number.
- You want no limit of any kind without paying: Fathom Free, after confirming it supports your platform, since its pricing page names none.
- You will pay and want the lowest annual price: Notta Pro at $8.17 a month or Otter.ai Pro at $8.33 per user a month; Notta allows 5-hour recordings and 1,800 minutes, Otter 90-minute conversations and 1,200 minutes.
- You will pay and want unlimited transcription and summaries: Fireflies.ai Pro at $10 per seat a month billed annually, with 8,000 minutes of storage per seat; Fathom Premium at $16 a month also states no limit.
- You record sessions longer than 90 minutes: Notta Pro (5 hours), Fireflies.ai (3-hour recording limit on the feature table) or Otter.ai Business (4 hours, $19.99 per user a month billed annually).
- You need meetings in many languages: Fireflies.ai states transcription in 100+ languages on every plan and a multi-language mode from Business; the other three pricing pages do not state a language count.
- You want a trial before paying: Notta's 7-day Business trial or Fathom's free trial on paid plans; the Otter.ai and Fireflies.ai pages do not state one.
Head to head
Frequently Asked Questions
On the vendors' published plans, Otter.ai is the pick for most people: its free Basic plan records Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet with automated summaries, 300 transcription minutes a month and a 30-minute cap per conversation, and Pro is $8.33 per user a month billed annually. Fireflies.ai is second: its free plan states unlimited transcription with limited AI summaries and names Zoom, Google Meet and MS Teams, and Pro is $10 per seat a month billed annually. Fathom is the pick if you want an unlimited free plan with no stated summary limit; Premium is $16 a month billed annually. Notta is the pick for the longest recordings on a paid plan, at $8.17 a month billed annually, but its free plan stops at 3 minutes per conversation.
Fathom states the largest free allowance: unlimited recordings and transcriptions with instant AI call summaries, and no minute, meeting-length or summary cap is stated on its pricing page. Fireflies.ai Free also states unlimited transcription, but its AI summaries are listed as limited, with no count given, and storage is 400 minutes per team. Otter.ai Basic gives 300 minutes a month at up to 30 minutes per conversation with summaries. Notta Free gives 120 minutes a month but only 3 minutes per conversation and 10 AI summaries a month, which does not cover a normal meeting.
On annual billing, Notta Pro is $8.17 a month ($97.99 a year), Otter.ai Pro is $8.33 per user a month, Fireflies.ai Pro is $10 per seat a month and Fathom Premium is $16 a month. Every page shows a higher month-to-month rate: Otter $16.99, Fireflies $18, Fathom $20, and Notta labels its annual price as 40% off. Fathom's Team plan is $15 a month billed annually but needs at least two users.
Otter.ai's pricing page lists Zoom, MS Teams and Google Meet on every plan including the free one. Fireflies.ai's lists Zoom, GMeet, Teams and "10+" more on every plan, plus a Chrome extension that records without the Fireflies bot. Notta's lists Zoom, MS Teams, Google Meet and Webex from the free plan up. Fathom's pricing page does not name meeting platforms; check Fathom's own documentation for platform support.
Yes on all four, with different limits. Otter.ai Basic lists automated summaries with action items and outlines. Fathom Free lists instant AI call summaries. Fireflies.ai Free lists "limited AI summaries" without stating a number; summaries become unlimited on Pro. Notta Free allows 10 AI summaries a month, rising to 100 on Pro and 200 on Business.
Every price on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-09-05 and is linked under each card. tl;dv is not on this page because its pricing page did not return readable prices on that date. The linked vendor page is the authority, and this page is updated on each check.